"Make A Promise Day" — May 4th

May The Fourth Be With You!

Matthew Cossolotto’s “A Promise A Day” Program Launched on Twitter January 1, 2011: 30 Days to a Promising Future

Happy New Year everybody!  I’m really excited about starting off 2011 by launching this brand new “A Promise A Day” program.  The timing couldn’t be better.  The idea is to start off the new year with a 30-day program of positive, Personal Empowerment Promises (PEPs) to help all of us (myself included) build momentum toward a terrific, successful, prosperous year in 2011 … and beyond.

In case you missed them, I’m pasting below the first five promises of the year … the first five promises in the 30-day program.  For the moment, I’m calling this “A Promise A Day:  30 Days to Promising Future.”  But I’m considering another title for the program:  “A Promise A Day: 30 Promises That Could Change Your Life.”  At some point soon I’ll decide which title I want to give this exciting program.  If you have any thoughts about which of those two titles you prefer – or if you have another suggestion completely — please leave a comment or send me an email.  I’d really like to hear what others think.

I launched the program on Twitter (follow www.twitter.com/makeapromiseday) in part because I liked the idea of keeping each of these promises very short.  Twitter requires you to stick to the 140 character limit.  There are pros and cons to such short posts – or Tweets.  I also wanted people to be sure to focus on and savor each promise in turn … and not be tempted to move on quickly to the next promise in the sequence.  So these promises will be unveiled one at a time on Twitter.  I’m going to post them in batches of five on my blog to help people who miss the Tweets as they appear come up to speed quickly.

During the course of the 30-day program I will offer some additional words of explanation and when the program is completed I plan to compile the set of 30 promises into a short publication with a bit more explanation about how to make the most effective use of this powerful collection of 30 promises.

As you’ll see, several of the 30 promises come from Christian Larson’s remarkable collection of promises that became known as the Optimist Creed (www.optimist.org).  And just to give you a heads up, later in the program there is a group of 10 promises that spell out the 10-letter acronym “SUCCESSFUL.”  I’ll be highlighting those 10 promises in my forthcoming books and other publications, in various videos, presentations and workshops.  Sometimes I refer to this as my “Top Ten list of Promises for a SUCCESSFUL Life.”

What should you do with each promise in the program?  For starters, read it to yourself several times.  Think about it.  Repeat it out loud. Write it down a few times as well. Writing it 10 times is good habit to get into.  After the 30-day program you can go back over the collection of 30 promises and consider which ones you want to incorporate into your daily routine going forward.

The idea is to get into the habit of repeating a number of these Personal Empowerment Promises on a daily basis … in the morning and at night just before bed.  Select those promises that resonate most with you.  However, I encourage you to retain all ten of the promises in the SUCCESSFUL acronym as your core group of promises going forward.  Then add several additional promises from the collection of 30.  You can certainly include all 30 promises as part of your daily practice.  You’ll be able to read all 30 to yourself and out loud several times a day in just a few minutes.

All of these suggested promises are really positive affirmations that have that extra power of the word “promise” behind them. Making a promise … using those two magic words “I Promise” … creates a stronger heart-connection than traditional affirmations or even goals.  As I frequently say, a promise is like a goal on steroids.  A promise has emotional “stickiness” that has staying power over time.

As Jack Canfield (co-creator of the Chicken Soup for the Soul series: www.JackCanfield.com) writes in the foreword to my forthcoming book about the power of making a promise:  “With a promise your heart and emotions are fully engaged.  Because of this, a promise is what I call a personal empowerment ‘twofer.’  It combines The Power of Intention with The Law of Attraction.  And that is a very powerful combination indeed.”

And John Assaraf (www.JohnAssaraf.com) best-selling author of Having I All, wrote this about my Make A Promise project:  “I agree completely with [Matthew] that there is something uniquely powerful about making a promise that goes beyond traditional goal-setting.”

Here are a few prominent examples of the power of making a promise:

  • Nancy Brinker, author of Promise Me and founder of Susan G. Komen for the Cure, promised her sister and breast cancer victim Suzy that she would help find a cure.
  • Bill Clinton made a promise to Chelsea that he would watch his diet and take care of his health.
  • Oprah made a promise to Nelson Mandela that she would build a school for girls in South Africa.
  • Al Roker made a promise to his dying father that he would lose weight.

Christian Larson appreciated almost a hundred years ago the importance of stating positive affirmations in the form of a series of promises.  I’m continuing and expanding that Larsonian insight, enshrined as it is in the Optimist Creed, with this 30-day program.  Think of these 30 Personal Empowerment Promises as mini-PEP Talks you can use every day to keep yourself in a positive frame of mind, heading in the right direction this month, this year, and in the years to come.

Personal empowerment is the gift that keeps on giving … for a lifetime.  This “A Promise A Day” program of 30 Personal Empowerment Promises is my New Year’s gift to you.  Please feel free to share these promises with your friends, relatives, and colleagues.

To Your Promise!

Matthew

Matthew Cossolotto’s “A Promise A Day Program:  30 Days to a Promising Future”

(First five Personal Empowerment Promises appear below)

January 1, 2011 — Promise #1:  I promise … To forget the mistakes of the past and press on to the greater achievements of the future. (From Christian Larson)

January 2, 2011 — Promise #2:  I promise … To talk health, happiness, and prosperity to every person I meet. (From Christian Larson)

January 3, 2011 – Promise #3:  I promise. . . To savor every moment of life, appreciating that time is my most precious, non-renewable resource.

January 4, 2011 – Promise #4:  I promise … To be the change I want to see in the world.

January 5, 2011 – Promise #5:  I promise …To think only of the best, to work only for the best, and to expect only the best. (From Christian Larson)

January 6, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

